Recreational Solutions Support
GearTrack Support: Managing Reservations
The most basic area to start managing your reservations is simply to click the Reservations link on the menu or side link. The default view will show all reservations that have not yet been checked out to users. The Reservations Out link will instead show all reservations that have been checked out but not yet returned by the user. Note that overdue returns will be shown in a pink background on the Reservations Out link. On the top links on the Reservations page you will notice additional ways to filter your reservations. Today at a Glance will show you all reservations for today. Likewise Tomorrow at a Glance will show tomorrow's reservations. Returns at a Glance will show returns due back today. On those pages, a calendar is available such that you can really do Any Day at a Glance, and Returns for any Day at a Glance. Finally, note that the Reservation Calendar will show the number of reservations and returns for any day in that month. Clicking on the reservations or the returns will take you to the At a Glance (or Returns at a Glance) page for that day.
Regardless of the view, the reservations list will show you the general information about the reservation, the participant making the reservation, the total cost (if any), whether the reservation is paid or not, as well as links to further manage the reservation:
- - This icon will show up when the client making the reservation still owes money. Click this item to process a payment for this reservation.
- - When using our shipping module, this icon will allow UPS clients to create a shipping label for this reservation. Administrators that do not use UPS can click this icon to enter the tracking number and estimated shipping costs associated with this reservation.
- - When using our shipping module, this icon will allow UPS clients to create a return shipping label for this reservation, which they can then email to the client. The client can then drop off the reservation items at any pick up location. Administrators that do not use UPS can click this icon to enter the tracking number and estimated shipping costs associated with the return of this reservation.
- - This icon launches a new email from your preferred email client addressed to the participant that made this reservation.
- - This icon will load the reservation details page for this reservation.
- - This icon will show up for reservations that have not yet been checked out and the start date/time of the reservation falls within the established check out window. The check out window controls when reservations can be checked out. Administrators can specify how many hours before and after the actual reservation time items can be checked out from the Settings link. Clicking this icon will start the check out process and allow the user to identify which specific items are being checked out as part of this reservation.
- - This icon will show up for reservations that are currently checked out by clients. This will load the return screen where items can be returned. Partial returns can be processed also. The return process also allows you to identify damaged/lost items and charge the client if appropriate.
- - This icon will load either the reservation report, check out report or check in confirmation report for this reservation...depending on whether the reservation is reserved, checked out or returned. GearTrack's email/report settings allows you to set a custom header and footer for these reports. Many clients will use these reports to print a waiver/terms and conditions/refund information about the reservations and record a hard coded signature from the client.
- - For reservations that have not been checked out, this will load the edit screen where changes can be made to the reservation. If a reservation is already checked out, the post check out modification screen will load, which will allow to change the dates/reservation type. Items can't be added/removed from a reservation already checked out. The purpose of this screen is simply to shorten or lengthen a reservation and create an appropriate credit or charge for the cost difference for making the change.
- - Only available before a reservation is checked out, this will delete the reservation from the system. For already paid reservations, a credit will be created on the clients account. You can keep the credit for future use, delete/edit the credit from the client's shopping cart if no refund or a reduced refund is called for, or mark the credit as paid out if you refunded the transaction by cash, check or by login in to your Payment Gateway account and refunding the transaction there.